Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Home Site Map E-Mail Québec Portal Search Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et des Parcs Français Español
 
Centre d'expertise en analyse environnementale du Québec

Methods for taking, preserving and analyzing samples to monitor the water quality of pools and other artificial reservoirs

Official Version (pdf format, 87 Ko)

Introduction

This guide contains information that details methods for the collection, preservation and analysis of samples required for the monitoring of analytical parameters prescribed under the Regulation respecting the water quality of pools and other artificial reservoirs (Q-2, r. 39*) in order to ensure that water for bathers is safe, sanitary and stable. It is therefore important to ensure good cooperation between reservoir managers, samplers and the personnel assigned to laboratory analysis. According to the Regulation, the person responsible for a reservoir describes any owner or operator of a pool or other artificial reservoir concerned by the said regulation.

This document has been prepared for all managers of reservoirs to explain the general preparations necessary and the safety measures that must be implemented at the time of sampling. It also outlines methods for sample collection in pools and other artificial reservoirs of water. The document contains a section concerning on-site analysis of parameters required for the chemical analysis of swimming water and a section relating to collection and preservation methods for samples intended for laboratory analysis. It also details recommended sample volumes, preservatives, types of containers and the timeframes that must be respected between sampling and analysis.

General precautions

The manner in which samples are collected has a direct impact on the quality of analytical findings. To minimize the risks of sample contamination by the sample collector and to ensure sample integrity, basic precautions must be taken to obtain a representative sample. Samples can become contaminated through careless sampling techniques. It is therefore the responsibility of the sample collector or of an artificial reservoir manager to ensure the quality of sample collection, preservation and suitable transportation of samples that are sent to a laboratory accredited by the Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques. The sample collector or of an artificial reservoir manager is also responsible for ensuring a representative sampling where on-site analyses are conducted.

Table of contents

On-site analysis

Specific Precautions

The following precautions are necessary to prevent sample contamination:

Preservation Methods

The methods of preserving the analytical parameters prescribed in the Regulation respecting the water quality of pools and other artificial reservoirs are closely tied to analysis methods and are described in Table 1.

Table 1 - Preservation methods for chemical parameters (on-site analysis)

Parameter Preservative* Container* Recommended volume (ml) Time between sample collection and analysis
Alkalinity N P or G 10 30 minutes
Hardness N P or G 10 30 minutes
Total residual bromine N P or G 10 30 minutes
Chloramines N P or G 10 30 minutes
Free residual chlorine N P or G 10 30 minutes
Total residual chlorine N P or G 10 30 minutes
pH N P or G 10 2 hours
Water temperature N P or G 125 3 minutes

* See legend

Table of contents

Sampling Method

Samples intended for chemical analysis must be collected during normal operating hours, 15 to 30 cm below the surface of the water or, where a reservoir is less than 30 cm deep, halfway between the surface of the water and bottom of the reservoir.

Samples must be collected in an area that is not very frequented by bathers at the time of sampling. It is also important to collect the sample in an area between the filtration system intake and water return. In the case of whirlpool baths, samples can be collected anywhere below the surface of the water.

It is important to carefully follow the instructions provided by the manufacturer of the chemical test kits used. It is also essential that the hands of the person who is collecting the samples be extremely clean to prevent subsequent contamination (by sweat, chemical residues, etc.) when handling samples.

The measuring cells of the kit must remain clean and transparent. Cells must be rinsed with the sample before their filling up and the level of liquid adjusted. They must then be wiped with a soft clean cloth before making colour comparisons, so that outer surfaces remain clean and dry. Always fill cells to the required level to prevent discrepancies in measurements.

Analysis Methods

Water temperature

For a water temperature reading, the following is required:

A water temperature reading can also be taken directly in the artificial reservoir.

Other Parameters

It is possible to obtain different types of test kits for on-site analysis of chemical parameters (pH; free, total and combined residual chlorine; alkalinity; etc.). These kits are very useful for verifying the principal parameters that can be used to analyze water quality and therefore ensure that treatment systems are operating correctly.

These kits generally include test containers, measuring cells and reactive products that help to determine concentrations of the products tested by using colorimetric comparators. Analyses must be conducted using reliable equipment and appropriate and not expired reagents.

The reservoir manager must at least have a test kit capable of measuring free residual chlorine to between 0.2 mg/1 and 5.0 mg/1 with a precision of 0.2 mg/l. If using brome as a disinfectant, it is also necessary to have a test kit capable of measuring total brome to between 1.0 mg/l and 5.0 mg/ with a precision of 0.5 mg/l.

Test kits must also be capable of measuring pH with a precision of 0.2 units, hardness and total alkalinity of the water with a precision of 10 mg/l.

Table of contents

Laboratory analysis

Specific Precautions

Preservation Methods

The preserving methods for the analytical parameters prescribed in the Regulation respecting the water quality of pools and other artificial reservoirs are closely tied to laboratory analysis methods. In fact, the desired sensitivity and quantification limits can be used to determine the volume and type of sample to be collected. The type of container and sample preservation technique are also determined on the basis of the analysis method. It is therefore vital to work in close cooperation with laboratory staff to obtain the proper additional information. In addition to the specific provisions detailed in Table 2, the following general considerations apply:

Table of contents

Table 2 -  Preservation methods for microbiological and chemical parameters (laboratory analysis)

Parameter Preservative* Container* Recommended volume (ml) Time between sample collection and analysis
MICROBIOLOGY
Fecal coliforms ST3 PPS or GS 100 48 hours
Escherichia coli ST3 PPS or GS 100 48 hours
Pseudomonas aeruginosa ST3 PPS or GS 100 48 hours
Staphylococcus aureus ST3 PPS or GS 100 48 hours
CHEMISTRY
Turbidity N/A P or G 125 48 hours

* See legend

Sampling Method

Samples sent for microbiological and turbidity analysis must be collected during normal operating hours, 15 to 30 cm below the surface of the water or where the reservoir is less than 30 cm deep, halfway between the surface of the water and the bottom of the reservoir. Samples must be collected in an area that is not very frequented by bathers at the time of collection and in an area between the filtration system intake and water return. In the case of whirlpool baths, samples can be collected anywhere below the surface of the water. Bottles must be filled to the rim, leaving an air space of at least 2.5 cm and the lid must be sealed immediately after collection.

For water samples from an artificial reservoir destined for microbiological analysis, sampling containers contain a reagent. This reagent neutralizes the residual disinfectant present in the water when a sample is collected. To preserve the reagent, ensure that you tip the container towards the bottom of the reservoir at a 45° angle in one motion. This preventive measure is necessary, otherwise results may be negatively distorted. It’s also possible to collect sample by adding immediately and aseptically a sterile solid tablet of sodium thiosulfate in the sample. Samples for microbiological analysis must be collected with very particular attention paid to avoiding hand contamination, even when a collector has washed his or her hands before. If more than one sample is required, always begin with microbiological samples, and after with the chemical samples, to avoid dipping a microbiological analysis container in water that has been contaminated by the collector.

Legend

CONTAINERS
P Bottles and lid linings are made of the following plastics: high- or low-density polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, polyvinyl chloride or teflon
PPS Sterile polypropylene bottle
G Glass bottle
GS Sterile glass bottle
PRESERVATIVES
N No preservative required
ST3 Sodium thiosulfate at a final concentration of 0.01 % (p/v)
OTHER
N/A Not applicable
*Due to a change to regulation numbering that followed adoption of the Act respecting the Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations, RSQ, c R-2.2.0.0.2, regulation # Q-2, r. 39 henceforth replaces former regulation # Q-2, r. 18.1.02.

Barre de navigation

Accessibility | Access to information (French) |

Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2016

Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English Espanol Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
 
Centre d'expertise en analyse environnementale du Québec


Méthodes de prélèvement, de conservation et d’analyse des échantillons relatifs à l’évaluation de la qualité de l’eau des piscines et autres bassins artificiels

Version officielle (format pdf, 95 ko)

Introduction

Le présent fascicule énonce les différents modes de prélèvement, de conservation et d’analyse des échantillons requis pour l’évaluation des paramètres analytiques exigés par le Règlement sur la qualité de l’eau des piscines et autres bassins artificiels (Q-2, r. 39*) afin d’assurer que l’eau de baignade soit salubre, sécuritaire et stable. À cet égard, il est important d’avoir une bonne collaboration entre les responsables d’un bassin, les préleveurs et le personnel chargé des analyses en laboratoire. Selon le Règlement, le « responsable d'un bassin » s'entend de tout propriétaire ou exploitant d'une piscine ou autre bassin artificiel visé par le présent règlement.

Ce document est destiné à tous les responsables de bassins afin de les renseigner sur les préparatifs généraux à effectuer et les précautions à prendre lors de l’échantillonnage. Il définit également les méthodes de prélèvement d’échantillons dans les piscines et autres bassins artificiels. Le document comporte une section relative à l’analyse sur place de certains paramètres requis pour l’évaluation chimique de l’eau de baignade ainsi qu’une section concernant le prélèvement et la conservation des échantillons destinés à l’analyse en laboratoire. Il présente aussi les volumes d'échantillons suggérés, les agents de préservation, les types de contenants à utiliser de même que les délais à respecter entre le prélèvement et l'analyse.

Précautions générales

L'étape d'échantillonnage influence directement la qualité des résultats analytiques obtenus. Des précautions élémentaires doivent être prises pour obtenir un échantillon représentatif afin de minimiser les risques associés à la contamination de l’échantillon par le préleveur et de permettre le maintien de l'intégrité des échantillons. Les échantillons peuvent être contaminés par un manque de soins dans l'application des techniques d'échantillonnage. Ainsi, il incombe au préleveur ou au responsable d’un bassin de s’assurer de la qualité du prélèvement, de la conservation et du transport adéquat des échantillons avant qu’ils ne soient soumis à un laboratoire accrédité par le ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques. Il est également de la responsabilité du préleveur ou du responsable d’un bassin de s’assurer de la représentativité de l’échantillon lorsque des analyses sur place sont effectuées.

Retour à la table des matières

Évaluation sur place

Précautions particulières

Afin d’éviter la contamination des échantillons, il faut prendre les précautions suivantes :

Modes de conservation

Les modes de conservation des différents paramètres analytiques exigés par le Règlement sur la qualité de l’eau des piscines et autres bassins artificiels sont intimement liés aux méthodes analytiques utilisées et ils sont décrits au tableau 1.

Tableau 1 : Modes de conservation des paramètres chimiques (évaluation sur place)

Paramètre Agent de conservation* Contenant Volume suggéré (ml) Délai entre le prélèvement et l'analyse
Alcalinité N P ou V 10 30 minutes
Brome résiduel N P ou V 10 30 minutes
Chloramines N P ou V 10 30 minutes
Chlore résiduel libre N P ou V 10 30 minutes
Chlore résiduel total N P ou V 10 30 minutes
Dureté N P ou V 10 30 minutes
pH N P ou V 10 2 heures
Température de l'eau S.O. P ou V 125 3 minutes

*Voir la légende

Retour à la table des matières

Méthode de prélèvement

Les échantillons destinés à l’analyse chimique doivent être prélevés pendant les heures normales d’exploitation, de 15 à 30 cm sous la surface de l’eau ou, lorsque la profondeur du bassin est inférieure à 30 cm, à mi-chemin entre la surface de l’eau et le fond du bassin.

Les échantillons doivent être prélevés dans une partie peu fréquentée par les baigneurs au moment du prélèvement. Il faut également effectuer le prélèvement entre la sortie du système de filtration et le retour d’eau. Dans le cas des bains tourbillons, les échantillons peuvent être prélevés en tous points sous la surface de l’eau.

De plus, il est essentiel de respecter rigoureusement l’ensemble des instructions fournies par le fabricant des différentes trousses de mesures chimiques utilisées. Il est aussi primordial que la personne qui effectue les prélèvements ait les mains très propres pour éviter toute contamination subséquente (par la sueur, par des résidus de produits chimiques, etc.) au cours des manipulations.

Les cellules de mesure des différentes trousses doivent être propres et transparentes. Il faut les rincer avec l’échantillon avant de les remplir et d’ajuster le niveau de liquide. Il faut ensuite les essuyer avec un tissu propre et doux avant d’effectuer les comparaisons de couleur pour que les parois externes soient propres et sèches. Les cellules doivent toujours être remplies au niveau demandé pour éviter des écarts dans les mesures.

Méthodes d’analyse

Température de l’eau

Lors de la lecture de la température de l’eau, il faut :

La mesure de la température de l’eau peut également s’effectuer directement dans le bassin.

Autres paramètres

Il est possible de se procurer différents types de trousses d’essai pour analyser sur place les différents paramètres chimiques (pH; chlore résiduel libre, total et combiné; alcalinité; etc.). Ces trousses sont très utiles pour vérifier les principaux paramètres permettant d’évaluer la qualité de l’eau et donc de s’assurer du bon fonctionnement des systèmes de traitement.

Généralement, ces trousses sont composées de fioles d’essai, de cellules de mesure et de produits réactifs qui aident à déterminer les concentrations des produits recherchés à l’aide de comparateurs par colorimétrie. Les analyses doivent être effectuées avec de l’équipement fiable ainsi que des réactifs non périmés et appropriés.

Le responsable d’un bassin doit posséder au minimum une trousse d’essai capable de mesurer le chlore résiduel libre entre 0,2 mg/l et 5,0 mg/l à 0,2 mg/l près. S’il utilise le brome comme désinfectant, il doit également posséder une trousse d’essai capable de mesurer le brome total entre 1,0 mg/l et 5,0 mg/l à 0,5 mg/l près.

Les trousses d’essai doivent également permettre de faire la mesure du pH à 0,2 unité de pH près et de la dureté et de l’alcalinité totale de l’eau à une précision d'au moins 10 mg/l.

Retour à la table des matières

Évaluation en laboratoire

Précautions particulières

Retour à la table des matières

Modes de conservation

Les modes de conservation des différents paramètres analytiques exigés par le Règlement sur la qualité de l’eau des piscines et autres bassins artificiels sont intimement liés aux méthodes analytiques utilisées en laboratoire. En effet, la sensibilité et les limites de quantification souhaitées peuvent servir à définir le volume et le type d'échantillon à prélever. De plus, les méthodes d'analyse peuvent influer sur le choix des contenants et sur les techniques de conservation des échantillons. Il est primordial de travailler de concert avec le personnel du laboratoire pour obtenir les renseignements supplémentaires requis. En plus des dispositions spécifiques qui sont décrites au tableau 2, les considérations générales suivantes s'appliquent :

Tableau 2 :  Modes de conservation des paramètres microbiologiques et chimiques (évaluation en laboratoire)

Paramètre

Agent de conservation*

Contenant

Volume suggéré (ml)

Délai entre le prélèvement et l'analyse

MICROBIOLOGIE
Coliformes fécaux TS3 PPS ou VS 100 48 heures
Escherichia coli TS3 PPS ou VS 100 48 heures
Pseudomonas aeruginosa TS3 PPS ou VS 100 48 heures
Staphylococcus aureus TS3 PPS ou VS 100 48 heures
CHIMIE
Turbidité S.O. P ou V 125 48 heures

*Voir la légende

Retour à la table des matières

Méthode de prélèvement

Les échantillons destinés à l’analyse microbiologique et à l’analyse de la turbidité doivent être prélevés pendant les heures normales d’ouverture, de 15 à 30 cm sous la surface de l’eau ou, lorsque la profondeur du bassin est inférieure à 30 cm, à mi-chemin entre la surface de l’eau et le fond du bassin. Les prélèvements doivent être effectués dans une partie peu fréquentée par les baigneurs au moment du prélèvement et entre la sortie du système de filtration et le retour d’eau. Dans le cas des bains tourbillons, les échantillons peuvent être prélevés en tous points sous la surface de l’eau. Les bouteilles à large ouverture doivent être remplies jusqu’à l’épaulement en laissant un espace d’air d’au moins 2,5 cm et le bouchon doit être remis immédiatement après le prélèvement.

Pour les prélèvements destinés à l’analyse microbiologique de l’eau du bassin, un réactif liquide est présent dans les contenants prévus pour l’échantillonnage. Ce réactif permet de neutraliser le désinfectant résiduel présent dans l’eau au moment du prélèvement. Afin de ne pas perdre ce réactif, il faut veiller à plonger le récipient vers le fond du bassin dans un angle d’environ 45° en un seul mouvement. Cette précaution est essentielle, sinon les résultats pourraient être faussés négativement. Il est également possible d’effectuer le prélèvement et d’ajouter immédiatement dans l’échantillon , une pastille solide de thiosulfate de sodium enveloppée dans un emballage stérile. Finalement, la prise d’échantillons servant à l’analyse microbiologique doit être faite en portant une attention très particulière à la contamination par les mains, même si le préleveur s’est nettoyé les mains au préalable; en effet, s’il faut prélever plus d’un échantillon, il faut toujours recueillir en premier lieu celui qui est destiné à l’analyse microbiologique et poursuivre avec celui destiné à l’analyse chimique afin d’éviter de plonger un récipient pour l’analyse microbiologique dans une eau contaminée par le préleveur.

Légende

CONTENANTS
P Les bouteilles et les revêtements des bouchons sont composés des plastiques suivants : polyéthylène de basse ou haute densité, polypropylène, polystyrène, chlorure de polyvinyle ou téflon
PPS Bouteille de polypropylène stérile
V Bouteille de verre
VS Bouteille en verre stérile
AGENTS DE CONSERVATION
N Aucun agent de conservation requis
TS3 Thiosulfate de sodium à une concentration finale de 0,01 % (p/v)
AUTRE
S.O. Sans objet

*En raison d’une révision de la numérotation des règlements effectuée à la suite de l’adoption de la Loi sur le Recueil des lois et des règlements du Québec (L.R.Q., c.R-2.2.0.0.2), le numéro du règlement Q-2, r. 39 remplace désormais l’ancien numéro Q-2, r. 18.1.02.


Barre de navigation